10
Feb
09

what do you know about God?

What we know and believe about God is the most important thing about us.  There is nothing more central to a person’s existence than their view of God.  If we have a high view of God, then we are likely to have a biblical view of ourselves.  If we have a low view of God, then we are likely to have an elevated view of ourselves.

Knowledge of God shapes everything else in your life.  Knowledge of God determines the depth of your faith or the lack of it.

Comprehension of the Holy One decides how you will live.  Your understanding of the Lord God Almighty is reflected in your treatment of others as well as yourself.

Today, during my morning devotions, I spent time meditating on some of the foremost attributes of God.  It is always good to dwell on the riches and glory of God’s traits.  In doing so, the Lord lead me to compile a list of questions that lead me to further study.  I share these questions for your own study:

Omniscience: Do I know God knows everything?
Omnipresence: Do I know God is everywhere?
Omnipotence: Do I know God can do anything?
Sovereign: Do I know God controls everything?
Holy: Do I know God is totally perfect and utterly different from me and all of creation?
Gracious: Do I know God gives gracious oversight to the affairs of all mankind?
Love: Do I know God loves me even though I deserve His wrath?
Faithful: Do I know God does everything He says He will do?
Good: Do I know God is the final authority of everything that is good?
Wrath: Do I know God intensely hates all sin?
Mercy: Do I know God eternally gives Himself to us?
Immutable: Do I know God does not change His basic character?

6 Responses to “what do you know about God?”


  1. 1 Searching
    February 10, 2009 at 9:47 am

    WOW Ryan, this is great stuff!

    However, I don’t like the feeling of being the only one commenting…as to appear that I have to comment on EVERYTHING! That seems to be the caveat to bloging. Some topics bring out a plethora of comments from a variety of readers and some topics get little or no response. Perhaps I should decrease some.

    I personally like the path you are on with this blog. I hope you keep going deeper. For like you, I truly believe that if Christians can begin to really KNOW God, the world will change. Not through law or force or coercion but through a moving of God within his people. We cannot change people, only God can. And our shallow and altruistic attempts to manipulate or legislate people towards morality and righteousness will never accomplish what honest love and a deep knowledge of our Creator will do. But He has to be in our own hearts first so we can reflect that and inspire others to want Him in their hearts.

    Great insights!

    Soli Deo Gloria!

  2. February 10, 2009 at 10:53 am

    It is really good. Those are great questions to move us closer to God and desire more of Him and His power in our lives. I agree we receive all of Him at salvation but ‘see through a glass dimly’ until we do go deeper, allowing Him to cleanse us of our unrighteousness daily. Some things we just cannot receive until He disciplines or encourages or whatever He needs to do in each one to prepare their heart, soul and mind to hear Him and come to a desire to obey. I’m personally feeling His discipline as I wait on some things and feeling His encouragement as I wade through some things. God is always good and I’m so glad His ways are higher than mine or we’d all be sunk. I loved all the attributes. (Awesome worship and ministry time Sunday!!)

    Searching, keep commenting! They’re always good. Others will eventually come around if personal testimony, scripture and strivings toward godliness remain prevalent. Self reflection is always a good witness and model as well as being the primary subject which cannot be argued! That should be comforting for hesitant commenters. Who can argue with what God has done for you, to you, in you, etc.? I’m praying for boldness. I’ve met several people who read the blog but hang back. It’s o.k. but what a blessing you’d be to others to share what God puts on your heart. Your heart is just as valid as any pastor or seasoned teacher. God doesn’t require eloquence…that’s man’s judgment. Pure motive and a sincere witness will certainly speak louder than the text if God prompts it. Someone could accept Jesus Christ because of your humble sharing. Would you want to miss that? 1Tim. 1:7 7″For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.”

    God bless each of you! Thanks pastor Ryan. Hope you are feeling better after a rough Sunday.

  3. 3 Marie
    February 10, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Ryan,

    Several years ago I mentioned to you that EVERY man at CrossPoint needed to go through the Beth Moore Bible study entitled BELIEVING GOD. We learned four things about God, but I can only remember three of them right now. They are:

    I believe God is who He says He is.

    I believe God can do what He says He can do.

    I believe I am who God says I am.

    This study was not about believing in God, it was about believing God. Those three statements support in large your questions to us. After this study, I was able to see God in a way that I had never seen him before. We truly serve an awesome God.

  4. February 11, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Searching, your comments push me. I always like to read your responses. Thank you for your sincere, thought-provoking feedback. Like Chonda, I know of many who read the daily blog yet do not comment for various reasons. I continue to write, however. So, please continue to comment.

  5. February 11, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Marie,

    That is a great study. Thanks for sharing. “This study was not about believing in God, it was about believing God.” Good point. I was enlightened by that as well.

    God is who He says He is.

    God can do what He says He can do.

    I am who God says I am.

    I can do all things through Christ.

    God’s word is alive and active in me.

    I began this study a few years ago but was not able to go all the way through it at the time. I still have my book and remember the five because Beth, on the video, helped us know them by each finger on a hand. It is a great reminder and goes well with the blog. She ministers to many people through her studies. She does have a special way of speaking right to the heart of women. I think the three you touched on are key to the next two happening. That’s good. Believing is the most important thing that all of us get weak in at times. I know I do. That’s why encouragement is so important:) We do serve an awesome God. Blessings!

  6. 6 Searching
    February 11, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Ryan and Chandra,

    Your words come as a true surprise to me and in them you have blessed me beyond your imagining.
    I am humbled by your kind words and I pray that God be glorified!
    May what we do here reach just one more and urge them to seek the face of God!

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

