09
Feb
09

take the spiritual challenge

Provided are three questions that will challenge you spiritually.  Take time to answer each inquiry individually before moving to the next one.

QUESTION #1:  WHAT DO YOU WANT?

What do you want?  Think about your answer, and then answer truthfully.

Some people want money.  Other people want to quit losing money.  Due to the recent economic crisis, more than a few people just want a job so they can make money.

Some people want to save their marriage.  Other people want out of their marriage.  While many others would like to just be married.

A few want peace.  Several want joy.  A number want a day without chaos.

There might even be a few people who do not know what they want.

Seriously, what do you want?  What is your answer?  What is the bottom line?

Think about it before you move on to the next question.

QUESTION #2: WHAT DOES GOD WANT?

When was the last time you considered what God wants?  Do you know what God wants for your life?

The Bible tells us plainly what God wants for His people.  The Bible says…

God wants us to be saved

3 This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, 4 who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.

1 Timothy 2:3-4

God wants us to love Him

37 And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.  38 This is the great and first commandment.

Matthew 22:37 – 38

God wants us to love our neighbor

And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

Matthew 22:39

God wants us to love one another

34  A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.

John 13:34

God wants us to be holy

…even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him.

Ephesians 1:4

God wants us to deny ourselves, take up our cross daily and follow him

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

Luke 9:23

God wants us to do everything for His glory

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

1 Corinthians 10:31

This is not an exhaustive by any means.  We could also add that God wants us to be generous, faithful, loving, servants, godly, righteous, prayerful, disciplined and on and on.  However, the list provides enough to show the purpose and direction God wants for your lives.

Let’s now wrestle with the final question.

QUESTION #3:  HOW DO YOUR WANTS AND GOD WANTS DIFFER?

Is there a difference between your wants and God’s wants?  How do your desires compare with God’s desires?  In what ways are your desires different than God’s?  In what ways are your wants similar?

Compare your list with God’s.  Take note of the differences.

Where there are differences, repent.  And where there are similarities, rejoice.

The greatest desire of your life should be to want what God wants for your life.

1 Response to “take the spiritual challenge”


  1. 1 Searching
    February 9, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Ryan, I trust that you want to hear from your bloggers and that these are not rhetorical…

    #1: What do you want?
    Sincerely, I want with every fiber of my being to be the person God created me to be. I want to love Him as He wants to be loved by me. I want to understand Him with every bit of capacity I have. It is said that we human beings only use about a tenth of our brain capacity. I want to use closer to all of it to love God and be what He wants of me. I believe that if I could do that the world would continue to loose its influence on everything in my life and I would be able to love those in my life as God wants me to.
    Of course the hard part is the battle between my sin nature and my desire to be the recreated every day in God’s image. I struggle with all the same limitations of faith and self as does everyone. My goal is to be closer to my goal today than I was yesterday. So I try to listen more and closer to Holy Spirit each day. I try to spend more time in prayer today than I did yesterday. I try to get something from my bible reading each day to lead me there. I read as many other things, such as your blog and books about my Creator.
    I believe that as I supplicate myself to Him each day, He will change me from the inside out and everything else in my life will begin to fall under His leadership as well.

    You answered question #2 very well and question #3 is answered in the testimony above.

    Great blog! One can never go wrong with self examination!

    Soli Deo Gloria!!


Leave a Reply

