26
Jan
09

life: imagine the potential

Last weekend at CrossPoint we crossed a worship threshold we have never before traversed in our brief history.  My words are inadequate.  After my morning devotions I settled on this singular explanation: we experienced an infinitesimal reflection of God’s glory. 

I don’t know about any of you, but I want more.  Not more worship, more of God’s glory.  Remember, God has commanded us to love Him.

For those who were present, you will agree with me that Leslie Davis’ testimony of God’s forgiveness set the stage for the Spirit-led worship.  Her words were honest.  Her testimony was courageous.  Her story was seasoned with grace.  Thank you, Leslie.  We are so thankful you and Caleb are CrossPointers.

Last Friday President Barack Obama, placed abortion back on center stage when he overturned a controversial ban on U.S. support to international aid for organizations that provide abortion services around the world.  His decision is grave.  I pray he recognizes his mistake and reverses it soon.

Once again, the Catholic Church nails it for those who believe in the sanctity of life.  It would be great if this video was shown on every major news channel.  I wonder if our President has viewed it.

After watching it, tell me what you think: http://www.catholicvote.com/

5 Responses to “life: imagine the potential”


  1. 1 Stacy
    January 26, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Yesterday’s service had to be the most incredible service!!! The testimony was beyond my comprehension, worship was incredibly moving, the word was brought without fail and in a mighty way, and the Lord’s Supper was indescribably comforting. After hearing of the passing of a very strong and faithful woman I realized that yesterday’s service revealed more to me today. Looking back to that wonderful hymn, Jesus keep me near the cross, my thoughts dwell on the end of the chorus: “Till my raptured soul shall find Rest, beyond the river.” As tears filled my eyes I realized that Lorie has now found rest beyond the river, everlasting peace and love from the same amazing God who poured out His Glory on Crosspoint yesterday. Oh to be in His presence, what a day that will be. What a mighty God we serve! Glory to God alone!!!

  2. 2 Lawrence
    January 26, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    I agree with you about Leslie’s testimony! What courage it must have taken to tell her story. God’s grace was shown in abundance. I was very moved by her testimony, and I am thankful that our gracious Heavenly Father is using her in such a strong and amazing way.

    I think the video is very well done and I would like to see President Obama’s reaction to seeing it, if he has seen it. I am very troubled by the actions he has taken since taking office, and my only comfort is that God is still in control!!!

  3. 3 Searching
    January 27, 2009 at 8:29 am

    This abortion issue is such an emotionally charged and emotionally driven issue. I just went through the birth of a grandchild and have another one coming. I do not support abortion. Yet, as I continue to observe the politics and emotional manipulation on both sides of this issue I am constantly troubled. Both sides embellish the facts to support their agenda and their side of the issue. Both sides distort the truth and mislead the ignorant masses of people they try to persuade to take their side in the matter. History is replete with stories like is portrayed in the video. There are Christian and non-Christian people on both sides of the issue and neither claims to understand the opposition. It is without exception one of the most divisive issues in all of history. In some cases it stirs more raw emotion that the deity of Jesus Christ or the existence of God. Why? One claim by pro-life advocates is that they are speaking for those who cannot speak for themselves. And yet, what about the children who are born into poverty, drugs, abuse, torture and slavery? Why are these same people not speaking for these children who have no voice and have already been born? How many stories cross the news these days of babies and small children being left at hospitals or in dumpsters? Where are their advocates? Why does the Catholic and conservative Protestant church not speak out as adamantly and loudly about these children?

    Pastor Ryan, theologically speaking; what happens to children who die before birth or prior to the age of accountability? What happens to their souls?

    Aren’t the pro-life advocates aiming the wrong weapon at the wrong target? What would happen to the women who feel they have no choice or who feel that they cannot manage a child in their lives if the Christian world actually reached out with love and caring instead of guilt and attacks? (And by the way, using guilt is becoming a tool of the devil and should be avoided at all cost by anyone who claims the name of Christ.) What if we loved instead of hated? What if we loved them as Christ loved instead of judged by a set of laws like the Pharisees did? Jesus changed more lives by loving than the Pharisees ever did with their laws and manipulation of truth…

    Do we truly believe that God is in control with our behavior in this issue?
    Do we truly glorify God with our behavior in this issue?

  4. January 27, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Good words Stacy. I’m always amazed at how God couples births and deaths of people we know to give us comfort and those precious reminders as you just mentioned. I don’t personally know them but am still blessed by that fact.

  5. 5 Cheryl (Mona's friend)
    January 28, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Ryan,
    I know it took a lot of courage and humility for Leslie to tell her story, but I believe it must be told. I know that through the telling many others are faced with the abortion issue and have to face what it has done to our country and what God is able to do through the lives that have been devistated. Thank you for sharing your pain and your joy through what Jesus has healed in your life. I would not be surprised if there are many more in your congregation Ryan who need healing and possibly a platform to gloify God and his healing hand in their lives. Thanks for being open to talking about the hard things.


Leave a Reply

