20
Jan
09

a letter to the honorable president barack obama

barack_obamaThese are incredible days, aren’t they?  Yesterday we celebrated the birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.  Today, we inaugurated America’s first black president.  These days are unbelievable, absolutely unbelievable.

As we watch his inauguration with expectation, it is good to remember to pray for our new president.  Whether you agree with his political views or not, he deserves our prayers.  So, as President Obama begins his first day in office, I send this letter to our new president.

Dear Mr. President,

Congratulations!  I, along with many others across this great nation, commend you for an accomplishment that has been a longtime in coming.  You have helped our nation take a huge step toward the reality of measuring a man according to his character rather than his color.  Thank you.

I prayed for you today.  As I have done so for past presidents, I promise to pray for you.  Here are a few of the ways in which I will pray for you.

I pray you trust in the Lord with all your heart.
I pray you will not lean on your own understanding.
I pray you will acknowledge the Lord in all your ways.
I pray you seek counsel from godly men and women.
I pray for Almighty God to protect you.
I pray you ask the Lord to give you wisdom.
I pray you humble yourself before the Lord each day.
I pray you wait on the Lord in every decision you make.
I pray you make time for your wife, Michelle.
I pray you make time for your daughters, Malia and Sasha.
I pray you make time for yourself.
I pray you enjoy yourself.
I pray you relax.
I pray you take care of yourself physically.
I pray you read and study God’s Word each day.
I pray you make prudent decisions.
I pray you find ways to unite us rather than divide us.
I pray you work tirelessly to defend us.
I pray you surround yourself with people of integrity.
I pray you act with uprightness.
I pray you respect the integrity of the office you hold.
I pray you do not believe everything you read about your presidency.
I pray you remain levelheaded.
I pray you pray.

God bless you, and God bless these United States of America.

Sincerely in the hope of Christ,

Ryan F. Whitley

2 Responses to “a letter to the honorable president barack obama”


  1. 1 Searching
    January 20, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Good letter. The high road is the only road on which we will find Jesus. Good job Ryan.

    Soli Deo Gloria!

  2. January 20, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Ditto Searching and your letter.
    The Lord is One.


Leave a Reply

