19
Jan
09

a letter to the honorable president george w. bush

453px-george-w-bushIn 2001 my family met George W. Bush personally.  He was in town promoting an environmental initiative.  A very small crowd was allowed to hear the speech firsthand at Oak Mountain State Park.  Thanks to the generous invitation of a friend, my family was a part of that crowd.

We made many pictures and a lot of video.  Afterwards one of Mr. Bush’s assistants offered to have him autograph two photographs, if I mailed them to his attention.  Before the day concluded, two 8 X 10 photos were in the mail.  Six weeks later we received an official envelope from the White House.

In my office today is a framed, autographed picture that includes President Bush, my son, Taylor, and me.  We have another photo of President Bush with my wife, Vonda, and my daughter, Kelsey.  I will be forever thankful for that day, and for the photo opportunity.  I am also thankful for the man, George W. Bush.

On this, the final day of his presidency, I would like to express my appreciation through a personal letter.

Dear Mr. President,

On behalf of my family, I would like to thank you for your service as the 43rd president of the United States.  I, along with many other Americans, offer you our best wishes in your days to come.  On this, your final day as President of the United States, I would like to express thanks for the many ways you served us.

Thank you for your serving our nation.
Thank you for being a man of your word.
Thank you for your sacrifice to liberate so many.
Thank you for doing everything in your power to defend our freedom.
Thank you for standing firm in the face of hard choices, while facing unjust criticism.
Thank you for leading Iraq from a brutal dictatorship to an Arab democracy.
Thank you for toiling night and day to keep us safe.
Thank you for being yourself in the face of untenable pressure.
Thank you for your work to combat hunger and AIDS in third world countries.
Thank you for initiating the faith-based program.
Thank you for selecting conservative chief justices to the Supreme Court.
Thank you for modeling humility in the face of setbacks.
Thank you for leading the cause of freedom in the world.
Thank you for helping us to maintain our moral integrity.
Thank you for distinguishing between good and evil.
Thank you for advancing the cause of peace.
Thank you for renewing the dream of freedom.
Thank you for restoring the valor of our armed forces.
Thank you for seeing the best of our country.
Thank you for unshakable faith in America.
Thank you for respecting the office in which you served.
Thank you for remaining hopeful in the midst of adversity.
Thank you for being a man of integrity.
Thank you for having the best interest of America at heart.

We agree with you: our nation will never tire, never falter, never fail.

Sincerely in the hope of Christ,

Ryan F. Whitley

Regardless of your political persuasion, you will agree that President Bush deserves gratitude for working so tirelessly to defend our nation.

Tomorrow: a personal letter for newly inaugurated president, Barack Obama.

5 Responses to “a letter to the honorable president george w. bush”


  1. 1 Marie
    January 19, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Ryan,

    Thank you for your open letter to the President. I listened to his last address to the nation on TV and cried all the way through it. I was proud to have had him in the White House. I believe with all my heart that he was a man “for a time such at this.” He and his family truly deserve to be away from all the responsibility that the position carries with it. I pray that with the Lord’s help we will again have a president that possesses the kind of integrity that was found in George W. Bush.

    Marie

  2. 2 Searching
    January 19, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I’ve heard stories of the private compassion and personality of President Bush.
    I’ve heard that he is a genuine person outside of the political environment.
    I applaud your letter and would echo your every affirmation.
    In the days to come he and his family may need just such affirmations as the adjust to private life once again. And yet most former presidents rarely return to a “private” life.
    Thanks Ryan for putting into words the thoughts of so many!

    Soli Deo Gloria!

  3. 3 GAY
    January 19, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Ryan

    I like Marie believe that Pres. Bush was God’s appointed man for such a time as these. I cried when he served Our Military that 1st Thanksgiving in Irag. I also cried when he would point out several special people in the audience for his State of Union addresses. It has never been all about him. He has been an approachable President. Even though he was not as strong verbally in spiritual manners, he was certainly stong morally and it was refreshing for the office. I pray for our new President that when the trials come he too will be as strong. I pray the Bush family that as they transition back to whatever is normal for them that they will have days of rest and relaxation. He has had a tough 8 years and he is to be commended for all he has been thru. May God bless his family.

  4. January 20, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Ditto all. God is in control. Blessings.

  5. January 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Ryan, Great job on President Bush….
    To me, he will go down as one of the most unpopular presidents by many Americans. But, I don’t fall into that category. To me, He will go down as a president who stood strong and finished strong. To me, He was a great President who was put into situations that call for strong decisions. Did he make mistakes? Yes. Do I? Yes. God bless you President Bush and I’m sorry that you did not get the standing ovation that you deserved.


Leave a Reply

