18
Jan
09

Let’s finish this phrase…

This weekend’s blogs are written by Roxie Elliot.  Roxie is married to Bill.  They have two married children, and several grandchildren.  Roxie is one of CrossPoint’s prayer warriors.  She is also a gifted Bible teacher.  Both Roxie and Bill are faithful members of CrossPoint and devoted followers of Jesus Christ.  I know you will enjoy her posts.

Be still, and know that I am God,

Ps. 46:10

God calls us to be silent before Him, to be truly open to receiving His guidance.  Think about your prayer time; is it only you speaking and asking for your needs or do you seek God’s voice?  How would God speak to us today? God may speak through scripture, Bible study, sermons, other Christians, circumstances, or even a still small voice.  However, you have to be listening for Him.  There is a difference between hearing and listening. For example, we often hear the voices of people around us, but we remain focused on our own situation, such as reading a book or watching TV.  Listening on the other hand, is when our thoughts are centered on what our ears are hearing.  It’s tuning in with our heart and mind.

God desires for us to hear His voice, listen to Him, and do what He asks.  This means we truly know that He is God when we acknowledge what He has asked us to do, by doing it.  Look at Abraham when God asked him to sacrifice his son Isaac.  Abraham was willing to do it because he knew who God was.  He trusted God would raise his son from the dead should God allow him to actually sacrifice Isaac.

David was a man after God’s own heart and he said about Goliath,

“For who is this uncircumcised Philistine, that he should defy the armies of the living God?”

1 Sam. 17:26. 

As David chose his stones and approached Goliath, he had no fear because he knew God was on his side. 

45 Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword and with a spear and with a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the LORD will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you down and cut off your head. And I will give the dead bodies of the host of the Philistines this day to the birds of the air and to the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel, 47 and that all this assembly may know that the LORD saves not with sword and spear. For the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give you into our hand.” 

1 Sam 17:45-47

What happens when we do not listen to the Lord?  We miss His blessings, receive His discipline, and endure heartache.  One personal example led me to understand how important it is to know God’s voice and “lean not unto my own understanding”.  Many years ago two friends and I went to a Beth Moore conference in Jackson, Tennessee and stayed overnight at a motel that served a continental breakfast.  The next morning, before the last Beth Moore session, we went for breakfast and sat down with a woman who was deaf but she could read lips.  As we “talked”, I felt the Holy Spirit nudge me to ask her to come with us.  I didn’t have an extra ticket which had to be bought several weeks before the conference.  God nudged me again.  I didn’t remember any interpreter for the deaf being there, how would she “hear”? He nudged me one more time, but the same excuses ran through my head.  We went on to the conference and I was trying to dismiss my “crazy” thoughts about inviting the woman we had met.  We got our tickets ready to enter when we were told that “no tickets were needed”, anyone and everyone could come in.  I started remembering the lady and my excuse of no ticket and my heart sunk.  However, that was nothing compared to the total heartbreak I had when the first person I saw on stage at the conference was a deaf interpreter. God had only spoken to me, not to the other two women with me.  Yes, I felt like a heel and I wanted to hide in shame. Only His unconditional love and forgiveness helped me to get over this, but it has challenged me to be more sensitive to the voice of God.  I am not there yet, but I am making every effort to become more intimate with the Lord, not for anything that I can get out of it, but because I love Him. 

You and I can be as intimate with the Lord as Abraham and David.  We can know God will meet our every need. 

19 And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Phil 4:19-20

Each day that God gives us is a day to get to know our God better; why don’t we take the time to do just that?  God controls the universe and everything in it, but He has time to listen to each of us.  When are we going to take the time to listen to Him?  God has wonderful things that He wants to tell us and tremendous blessings if we will just trust Him and do what He asks. 

  • What if God asks the impossible?  Then He will make it possible.
  • What if God asks for a sacrifice on your part?  He has already provided the sacrifice for you for eternity.
  • What if God asks you to be still and know that He is God?  What will it take for you to love God so much that you would give up your time to spend with Him intimately?
5 Responses to “Let’s finish this phrase…”


  1. January 18, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Ouch, ouch, ouch! Roxie, we’ve all been there. Thank you for your honest admission. I’ve seen you minister to people in other settings. You and Bill are good examples for the rest of us to follow.

    Thanks for blogging this weekend.

  2. January 18, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Ditto pastor Ryan on both days. Thank you for your transparency, Roxie. I am glad you noted that God didn’t tell the other two ladies but clearly told you. That is so important to note since so many feel compelled to compare with peers. God doesn’t have favorites and tells us each individually what He expects of us. We shouldn’t look to the right or left but only up. I was happy to learn your daughter was someone I had already met; sweet girl. I loved your last three points also. I bet you’ll hear from others down the road. I think your words blessed more than are sharing this weekend:)

    “I am not there yet, but I am making every effort to become more intimate with the Lord, not for anything that I can get out of it, but because I love Him.” Precious.
    God bless you and thank you.

  3. 3 Roxie
    January 19, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Thank you, Chandra. I thought you knew my daughter, Sunnie. I look forward to the day that I meet you. God bless you also.

  4. 4 Searching
    January 19, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Very good blog Roxie.

    I am convinced that much of the struggles we encounter as Christians are of our own doing because we have not listened to God. We have not been still and perhaps do not even know his voice any longer. The sermon that Ryan delivered on Sunday held some strong and relevant support for this. We as a people do not truly “know” the God of the Bible. So many have adapted a spattering of learning to create in their own imagination or intellect a God that serves their own purposes instead of really learning the God of the Bible and conforming ourselves to his will. We have spit in the face of those we seek to lead to a relationship with God through Christ and then wonder why they reject him and curse us. We fail so miserably in loving the world because we are so busy judging it and the people we are meant to minister to. We appear to be on a mission to rid the world of sin instead of bringing God to it through the saving grace of Jesus Christ. We have set the bar of perception so high to the world that every time a Christian fails and falls it taints the entire Christian people. It’s time we unlearned all we think we know and actually get to “know” the God of the Bible!

    Thanks Roxie!
    Thanks, Ryan, for leading this effort towards knowledge!

    Soli Deo Gloria!

  5. January 20, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Thank you, Searching. I agree. Excellent points.


Leave a Reply

