17
Jan
09

Be Still,…

This weekend’s blogs are written by Roxie Elliot.  Roxie is married to Bill.  They have two married children, and several grandchildren.  Roxie is one of CrossPoint’s prayer warriors.  She is also a gifted Bible teacher.  Both Roxie and Bill are faithful members of CrossPoint and devoted followers of Jesus Christ.  I know you will enjoy her posts.

When someone says the words, “Be still” today it is usually in a tone of voice that demands attention. From Psalms 46:10, I want you to picture the Lord whispering in your ear, “Be still…” in a way that catches your attention, not demanding it.

In this world, we have so much “stuff” demanding our attention that we are tempted to take our eyes off of God and give in. Young mothers and fathers are usually rushing to get everyone dressed, everyone fed, and kids off to school and then off to work. TV and radio probably consume the time that could be spent with the Lord. Computers, ipods, cell phones, Wii, Play Stations, and the list goes on and on of “stuff” taking the valuable time that God has given us to waste it on things that will not matter in heaven.

As we get older, the excuse is that this “stuff” takes our mind off the problems of life, but does it really? Yes, I know that some of these things can be used for the Lord and that is a good thing. But do we use that excuse to justify our time on these things or do we really have God in mind when we use them. Do we fill our days with so much “stuff” that we give no quality time back to the Lord? God says, “Be still…” What does that really mean? Are we really willing to sacrifice what we think is our time to “be still”?

Since it is not our time but time that God has given us, why can’t we offer back to God our time as a pleasing sacrifice? Are we too selfish or too lazy? Do we not care about what God wants to tell us?

Since God created us and has a plan for our life, why don’t we stop to listen to what He has to say? Can you tell that I am under conviction?

“Be still…” tells us to find a place and time that we can be alone with the Lord. It tells us to separate our self from the world’s problems and have a consuming focus on God.

Start with reading His Word… slowly. Let every word speak to you. Pray for His guidance and let Him speak again. Use soothing Christian music to relax you and keep you surrounded and filled with the Holy Spirit. Is this easy to do? No, because Satan does not want you to listen to God. He will do everything he can to distract you or keep you from it.

Persistence is what will make it happen. It will take discipline and work for it to finally become a habit that you don’t want to break. It becomes a special time that you will look forward to having and wanting more of it every day. And as you go through your daily routine, you’ll think back on that time you had with the Lord and remember what He has said to you that day.

The result is pure joy; a joy that can only come from having time with the Lord and you will love it more than all the “stuff” that only the world can give.

4 Responses to “Be Still,…”


  1. 1 Regina Stewart
    January 17, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Roxie, Very timely blog! I am enjoying so much reading through the Bible this year in the One Year Bible. On January 1 when I sat down to start reading, God put that very verse (Be still and know that I am God”) on my mind. I have started every quiet time with that verse since then. I repeat it until my heart settles down and my mind is truly quiet. Then I have other verses the Lord has given me, such as Psalm 139:23-24, “Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts!And see if there be any grievous (wicked) way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” I pray other verses as the Lord brings them to mind. I then praise the Lord for who He is and what he has done for me and I pray for forgiveness of any unconfessed sin. Some times He brings other verses to my mind and I pray those as they come to me. In the past several weeks during Norman’s illness and death, the Lord has been so faithful to me and made me aware of His Presence, His unfailing love, His peace that passes all understanding and the comfort that only He can give. “Stuff” hasn’t mattered to me in a long time and it means even less now. I enjoy my quiet time with God and am looking forward to the day when I go to Heaven to be with Him (and my loved ones) forever. Thank you for blogging today! I love you!

    Peace be with you!

  2. January 17, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Thank you so much, Roxie. I am so eager to learn more of the godly women at Crosspoint. Titus and Timothy make clear the importance of the older teaching the younger and so many women in the older generation have gotten wrapped up in busyness as well. She’s a rare jewel who is willing to invest the time. So many valued concepts and teachings for women, especially at home, have been lost as generations have passed and people have moved further out from mothers and grandmothers. I’m not even sure of your age range but having all generations of women in the word, helping and encouraging each other through life is so important to me. I agree there is too much stuff to contend with these days. I’m easily distracted so too much of it makes me tired:) Our family has been on a quest to simplify for about 3 years now. I think everyone needs time with God, time alone personally, time learning from others and time teaching others. I don’t spend enough time with God and it sure does show when I haven’t had ‘alone time’. We can learn something from everyone. That was such a good blog. Thank you for sharing. I hope I meet you sometime at CP. I’ve enjoyed other writings you have done for the church also.

    Regina, thanks for the verse reminders. Those are good. It sounds like you miss Norman a lot. I am sorry. I am glad you feel God’s presence. He is faithful. God bless you.

  3. 3 Roxie
    January 17, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Regina, I am so glad I know you as my sister in Christ and that you have the peace that passes all understanding even with all that you have been through. Knowing scripture during difficult times in our life really gives us a sense of peace and hope. May God bless you.
    Chandra, thank you for your kind words. You are so right about older women teaching younger women has become a rare thing in today’s society. I look forward to meeting you one day at CrossPoint. May God bless you, too.

  4. January 18, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Roxie, this is why I invited you to blog this weekend. Your wisdom is rich. You blessed us immensely.


Leave a Reply

