14
Jan
09

what God does best

My college-aged son cracks me up.  During the Christmas holidays he has taken possession of my truck, my clothes and my razor.

Last spring I purchased a used Nissan pick-up truck.  It is great looking truck for its age.  Plus it drives really smooth.

Since I purchased it Taylor begs for opportunities to drive it.  His chances to drive it have increased while he is home for the holidays.

My son has borrowed my truck so many times we have swapped key rings.   As a result, I am now relegated to driving his car.

Taylor’s car is a clunker.  The trunk does not open.  The engine burns oil like fuel.  The passenger side window does not roll down.  If it does roll down you can never roll it back up.  And worst of all: it does not shift into the reverse.

We lost reverse about a year ago.  Since the cost to repair the transmission is worth more than the value of the car, we determined not to repair it.

Taylor has adjusted.  He parks on hills.  Or he parks where he can drive out forward.  This car is his “character car”.

We gave it this title because we believe it is making him into a man of character.

Now back to my truck.

So, this weekend, every time he left the house Taylor drove off in my truck.  No problem, there.  I don’t blame him.  Driving his car is a pain.

Yet there is more.

Sunday morning, my son strolls into worship wearing my skiing jacket.  It is an insulated, water-proof coat that has pockets and zippers galore.  It will keep you warm at minus 30 degrees.  He “borrowed” my coat when he went snow skiing two weeks ago.  Now it is his.

Again, I don’t blame him.  It is a nice coat.  A bit too big on him, yet it is still nice.

As with my truck and ski jacket the same is true with my electric razor.  I only use the razor once or twice a week to trim my goatee.  Last week I could not find it.  My wife informed Taylor’s been using it.  I guess that is his now, also.

If you have not figured it out, here is my son’s golden rule: if he borrows it he can keep it.

There is a spiritual lesson here, don’t you know?  Do any of you see it?  I thought of the spiritual lesson when I saw him wear my coat to worship.

I am humored by the way my son “borrows” my truck, my ski jacket and my razor, and then it becomes his.  I really do not have a problem with it.  In fact, I relish the opportunity to meet any or all of my son’s needs.  Whatever I have is his, and he is always welcome to use, borrow or even keep whatever I own.

Isn’t that the way God relates to us?  What is His is ours.  After all, we are just borrowing it.

Think about it.  Whatever we possess – our car, our house, our clothes, our money, our spouse, our kids, our job, our friends, our ______________ (you fill in the blank) – is not ours; it’s God’s.  After all, we are “borrowing” it from God.

It is only on loan from God.

So, the next time you drive off in your car.  Or the next time you put on your coat.  Or the next time you use something you think is yours.  Give thanks.  It is all a gift from God.  Besides, He wants to meet all of our needs.  He enjoys doing that.  That is what He does best.

6 Responses to “what God does best”


  1. January 13, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Yes, He does enjoy meeting our needs. He does do it best. He does have a tendency to wait until we’re at the end of our rope (which, whenever part of my Type A personality comes out, this drives me nuts! You’d think I’d have learned by now…). Yet, He’s always faithful. He proved that to us just this past weekend. And then, this past Sunday, through your message, Pastor Ryan, He reminded us that He is sovereign. In good and bad. In health and sickness. In much and little. In everything.
    Thank you for reminding us that what we “own” is really His.

  2. 2 Bill Walker
    January 14, 2009 at 7:05 am

    I don’t think God waits until we are at the end of our rope before meeting our needs. I think, in general, that we wait until we are at the end of our rope before turning to Him. I know that in my life, this has been the case. I have a problem, or a pressing need and I do everything within my power to resolve it. I will spend money, talk to friends, fight my way through the issue. When I am completely unsuccessful, then I turn to God and pray “God, I don’t know what to do! I have tried everything I can think of to resolve this issue. Please take this and help me conform to your will.” Miraculously, everything gets better at that point. The real question is, if I had done that to begin with, how much effort would I have been able to save?

  3. 3 Searching
    January 14, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Interesting perspectives…I have yet another, a surprise to all, right? LOL

    I find that if I begin praying as life requires that God is always faithful to speak to me through Holy Spirit and guides me to whatever it is that will help me find my way through it. I think that He changes me from the inside and that has a profound affect on the circumstances outside. God never promises to remove the hard times or adversity in our lives but rather promises to walk with us through them and that is where I find the difference.

    And by the way Ryan…my son does me the exact same way!!! Unconditional love is the key.

    Peace!

    Shema!

  4. January 14, 2009 at 10:07 am

    God bless you dads with sons. I have daughters and am not quite at that stage yet. I love the “character car”. I had a character car, shoes, clothes, etc growing up. I guess I still need some as my character has a long way to go:) Interesting how that spiritual lesson ties in a little with Don Whitney’s take on the tree on the father’s land which bore fruit in the spiritual disciplines book. My gut reaction was ‘did he ask his father’s permission?’ Maybe that is telling of me. I’m still in the respectful boundaries stage with my young girls…I guess. They cannot wear make-up yet. Parenting is so tough. Unlike any other job, your only assesment as a parent is their adulthood reflections back on growing up. Seems so long to wait sometimes. My 10 year old is already in my size shoes so that is kind of fun. Makes it worthwhile to invest a little more $ in them. Her foot will grow bigger while I can still wear them. tehe.

    And no reverse…wow. that’s a sermon by itself. I wish I never went in reverse. We should be looking out our windshield way more than in the rearview anyway. Thanks for the reminder. The 3 of you sound like Peter, Paul and John. Great comments all. I can relate to each in various circumstances I’ve experienced. Emmanuel, I can relate to the “you’d think I’d learned it by now”. I don’t have the consistency and stamina of a type A. My sanguine side is busy, then when melancholy kicks in…’oh woe is me’. I fight that pattern all the time. Thanks for sharing. “Hear O Israel….when you walk along the way….” Blessings to all.

  5. 5 Leslie
    January 14, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Thank you for your humorous perspective on “borrowing” and its relationship to God and us. I understand the car without reverse from when I was 16. Got lost in downtown Atlanta without reverse. Not fun.

    Back to borrowing. My husband tries to remind us that our son is on loan to us. We have to just be grateful for the time that we have with him. God has blessed us immensley with this beautiful child and the joy that he brings us daily. I have experienced loss and it makes me appreciate what I have more.

    Thanks Pastor Ryan!

  6. January 14, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Thanks for joining in Leslie. Bless your heart! Atlanta would be a tough place to experience that. Listen to your husband; he is so right. I understand we’re not promised tomorrow or loved ones around us; all is a blessing. I’m sorry about your loss. God is so gracious to bring beauty from pain if we let Him. Sounds like you already know that. God bless you.


Leave a Reply

