03
Nov
08

Now, vote your conscience

I called my son this morning, reminding him to vote tomorrow.  He voted for the first time in last June’s primary election.  When we spoke he expressed excitement about voting in the general election.

I remember the first time I voted.  My mom and I went to the voting precinct together.  Before exciting the car she reminisced about her two brothers who gave their life in World War II, serving their country.  She said my vote validated that Charlie and Cecil Henley did not die in vain.  She concluded, “Now, vote your conscience.”  The memory of that moment will last a lifetime.

I trust each of you will vote tomorrow.  Before you vote, however, please take time to pray.  Tuesday’s election will be historic election regardless the outcome.  History will be made in many ways.

Primarily, in January the United States will inaugurate either its first African-American President or its first female Vice-President.

Someday when I am old(er) and gray(er) I want to tell my descendants I voted in this momentous election.  Moreover, I want my voice to be heard.

One more thought and my sermon on voting is done.

Remember this adage:  Bad politicians are elected by good citizens who do not vote.

Now, vote your conscience.

3 Responses to “Now, vote your conscience”


  1. November 3, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I know I will be voting tomorrow morning. It is the first time I have ever gotten to vote (just became a US citizen earlier this year; never got to vote in Romania – the Communists were not known to hold democratic elections hehe), so this is a monumentous election for me, in many, many ways. Thank you pastor Ryan for the reminder that our vote does count.

  2. 2 Lee
    November 3, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I think there is truth in the saying, “Don’t be so heavenly minded you are of no earthly good.” Our responsibility as citizens of the USA is included among those to our work, family, friends and world, all defined, motivated, prioritized and empowered by one purpose: to glorify God and enjoy him forever. There is no area of our lives to which this purpose does not apply, therefore leaving no decision exempt from its evaluation. The seperation of church and state is only applicaple within a judicial context, not spiritual, making our responsibility to vote a civic and spiritual duty, exercised according to God’s glory.

  3. 3 Mike Miller
    November 4, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Ryan, just a note regarding vote your conscience as a believer of Christ. As I arrived at work a coworker who claims to be a Christian and attends I believe Faith Chapel in Birmingham seemed to be moved because of the death of Obama’s grandmother. She seemed to be geniunely emotional regarding this matter and I commented that I had heard she was ill. Upon which I then responded, “I guess that Barack Obama was your guy” since it was the eve of the election. She replied yes, he was her guy. I then responded, “You are then supporting a candidate who supports abortion of unborn children and also, supports same sex marriage.” The coworker then chose to exit the room but, responded that “this was the time for Barack Obama and that it was God’s plan.” Upon which I responded, “It is not God’s plan but, God is in conrol.” I was momnetarily upset that professing Christian would support this candidate but, realized very shortly that many are claiming to be Christians, playing Christians, and even Sheep in Wolves Clothing. I was not to be surprised that many will choose the path of deception created by Satan himself because it will benefit themselves or their race. May God Reign!!!!

    Mike Miller
    Crosspoint Member


Leave a Reply

