26
Sep
08

The Valley of Vision: The Lord’s Supper

About two years ago, the Lord convicted me that CrossPoint was not treating the Lord’s Supper with the kind of respect it deserved.  As a result, we decided we would spend more time preparing and participating in the holy meal.  CrossPoint now shares in the Lord’s Supper at least once a month, eleven months out of the year.  And I firmly believe we are growing in our reverence and respect for its holy meaning.

Provided below is a copy The Lord’s Supper prayer on page 360 of The Valley of Vision.  I used the prayer this morning in my daily devotion and it already raised my expectation for Sunday.  I plan to use the prayer the remainder of my weekend as I prepare to lead CrossPoint in taking the meal this Sunday.  I share this prayer with you for the next time you take the Sacred Meal.

God of all good, I bless thee for the means of grace;teach me to see in them thy loving purposes and the joy and strength of my soul.
Thou hast prepared for me a feast; and though I am unworthy to sit down as guest, I wholly rest on the merits of Jesus, and hide myself beneath his righteousness;
When I hear his tender invitation and see his wondrous grace, I cannot hesitate, but must come to thee in love.
By thy Spirit enliven my faith rightly to discern and spiritually to apprehend the Saviour.
While I gaze upon the emblems of my Saviour’s death, may I ponder why he died, and hear him say, ‘I gave my life to purchase yours, presented myself an offering to expiate your sin,shed my blood to blot out your guilt, opened my side to make you clean, endured your curses to set you free, bore your condemnation to satisfy divine justice.’
O may I rightly grasp the breadth and length of this design,draw near, obey, extend the hand, take the bread, receive the cup, eat and drink, testify before all men that I do for myself, gladly, in faith, reverence and love, receive my Lord, to be my life, strength, nourishment, joy, delight.
In the supper I remember his eternal love, boundless grace, infinite compassion, agony, cross, redemption, and receive assurance of pardon, adoption, life, glory.
As the outward elements nourish my body, so may thy indwelling Spirit invigorate my soul,until that day when I hunger and thirst no more, and sit with Jesus at his heavenly feast.

1 Response to “The Valley of Vision: The Lord’s Supper”


  1. September 26, 2008 at 8:50 am

    I’ll always remember my father telling me how appalled he was at the end of a service to see a gentleman “in shorts!” taking communion. He felt that this was highly disrespectful. While we don’t agree on music stlyes or clothing choices, his comment made me think. How do I approach the Lord’s table? How’s my attitude? How’s my demeanor? How’s my heart? I recall the church I grew up in, the pastor would always advise us to not even take communion if our heart wasn’t right. He said it was better for us to miss out on the meal than approach it in an unworthy manner.

    Thank you for sharing this prayer with us. I will use it as well…


Leave a Reply

