20
Aug
08

Today is a good day

Today is a good day.  Today my son, Taylor, returns from a five-week mission venture in Europe.

Never have I missed that child so much.  It is the longest his mother and I have ever gone without seeing him in person, touching him, kissing him, and being involved in his life.  His mother, sister, and grandparents, along with many friends and I, plan to greet him at the airport tonight.  He wants to eat supper at Cracker Barrel as soon as we start heading home.  He says he needs some sweet tea.

Vonda and I learned a little bit more about trusting God while Taylor was away.  I guess I now have some kind of inclination toward what missionary parents feel like.  Each morning during my devotions I would place Taylor in God’s hands.  Each evening, as I retired from my day, I would express gratitude for God guarding Taylor’s life another day.

We will have about 24 hours with our son, and then it is off to Samford.  He moves into his dorm Friday morning and starts classes the following Monday.  I figure that is about the time jet lag will kick in.  Boy, won’t that be fun!

When Taylor left five weeks ago, we stood at the airport lobby bawling our eyes out.  As he walked through the security check the preacher in me pictured him walking through a doorway of new opportunities.  I told Vonda the moment he stepped through the metal detector, God opened a vista of opportunity that will forever change his life.

I cannot wait to hear how God provided for my son.  I cannot wait to see what God did in his life.  I know Taylor will never be the same.  And, I know Vonda and I will never be the same.

Thus, today is a good day!

4 Responses to “Today is a good day”


  1. August 20, 2008 at 7:40 am

    OK, Jonathan, couldn’t you find a more flattering picture of my son? He’s going to kill you!

  2. 2 Mr. DQ
    August 20, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Great news! Here is a thought about being in God’s hands. We can’t keep ourselves there but God in His grace and mercy can.

    Austin Farrer gives this description of trust: “A Christian who knew his own heart might pray in some such fashion as this. My God, I wish to give you the gift you so much desire; I wish to commit myself to you once and for all, so there shall be no taking back. I cannot commit myself into your hands, O God, I cannot do it; but yet I can commit myself into your hands; for though I cannot keep myself there, your fingers can hold me there, your strong, gentle fingers always giving way and never letting go; your wise subtle fingers, wrestling so gently against my puny rebellions, that I tire myself trying to climb out of your hands, and come to rest at last in those wounded palms.”

    God is Good. What a Deliverer.

  3. 3 GAY
    August 20, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    The hardest thing I ever did was to leave our 17 year at college outside of Los Angeles in Santa Clarita, Cal. We spent time getting him set up in his room and then they took the students somewhere else and the parents to Chapel. The ensemble sang, and we sang Great is Thy Faithfulness. I cried all the way thru it. We went Grace Community Church the next morning and heard Dr. McArthur preach. We didn’t get to see Andy but a few more times before we left to fly back home. I cried a lot on the plane coming back. We didn’t see him again until Thanksgiving. That was the longest 3 months of my life. It got easier and of course we would fly out to see him during the year. God was so good to him while he was there and it took a lot of trust on our part to leave him. BUT GOD IS SO GOOD!!!

  4. August 21, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    It is so good to have my son home long enough to spend one night, and then off to Samford he goes. He’s been here all of 24 hours and he’s leaving again. That’s okay. It is time for him to step out on his own. Of course, he’s been on his own for a month in Europe.


Leave a Reply

