14
Aug
08

Trust is a matter of faith

Okay, what I am about to write is so elementary many of you will fall to the floor dying with laughter when you read it.  However, do not neglect the sublime for the simplicity.  Here it is:  TRUST IS A MATTER OF FAITH.

What about that for profundity?

Trust is a matter of faith.  If your faith is weak, then your trust will be weak.  However, if your faith is strong, then your trust will be strong.

It that is true and I have no reason to believe it is not then we must work at growing in our faith to grow in our trust.  So, how do we grow in our faith?

You are not going to like one of my answers, but it is biblical, nevertheless.  One answer is that our faith grows when it is tested.  Thus, the same is true with our trust in the Lord.  Our trust grows stronger whenever we face times of testing.

You will agree it is one thing to say, “I trust the Lord.”  It is quite another to say that when your world seems to be imploding.  Can someone give me an “Amen”?

Is there a way to grow in your faith without going through times of testing?  Indeed there is, and that leads to another answer to my previous question.

I try to treat my faith as if it were a muscle.  The more I use it, the stronger it grows.  So, how do we strengthen our “muscle” of faith?

I believe we can grow in our faith, as well as in our trust, whenever we:

  1. PRAY.  Prayer is a matter of trust.  It takes faith to speak to a God you have never seen or audibly heard, yet trust to meet your need.  The more you pray the more you grow in your faith.
  2. WAIT.  We must learn to wait on God instead of run ahead of Him.  Many of us create a greater problem when we take matters into our own hands.  Sometimes the best thing to do is to give God time to handle matters.
  3. REMEMBER.  It is amazing how quickly we forget what God has done in the past.  The God who solved our last major dilemma is the same God who will solve the next one.
  4. ASK.  The father of the sick son informed Jesus he believed; he asked Jesus to help him overcome his unbelief.  When we ask God to help us with our unbelief He will increase our faith.
  5. REJOICE.  I know that may sound strange, but I believe people who rejoice are people who trust.  If we grow in our joy in the Lord, we will grow in our trust.

These are just a few exercises to grow in your faith.  When we grow in our faith, we will grow in our trust.

4 Responses to “Trust is a matter of faith”


  1. 1 Mr DQ
    August 14, 2008 at 8:27 am

    It is kinda like a train, you know stop, look and listen.
    Jerehiah asks,
    Jeremiah 32:17’Ah, Lord GOD! It is you who have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and by your outstretched armF! Nothing is too hard for you.
    God Answers, (and He always does)
    Jeremiah 32:7″Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh. Is anything too hard for me?
    God goes on to say,
    Jeremiah 32:38-41 And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. 39 I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. 40 I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. 41 I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.

    Did you catch the last part of verse 41? Almighty God promises to look after us with ALL HIS HEART AND ALL HIS SOUL. Who would dare to question His commitment to us?

    Rejoice Indeed!

  2. 2 Lee
    August 14, 2008 at 9:18 am

    I’m working through The Problem of Pain by C. S. Lewis now. A passage particularly strikes me that exposes the wrong motivations that wrongly define faith and trust thus preventing the fruit of their blessings:

    “What can I say with sufficient tenderness what here needs to be said? . . . Let me implore the reader to try to believe, if only for the moment, that God, who made these deserving people, amy really be right when He thinks their modest prosperity and the hapiness of their children are not enough to make them blessed: that all this mus fall from them in the end, and that if they have not learned to know Him they will be wretched. And therefore He troubles them, warning them in advance of an insufficiency that one day they will have to discover. The life to themselves and their families stands between them and the recognition of their need; He makes that life less sweet to them. I call this Divine humility because it is a poor thing to strike our colours to God when the ship is going down under us; a poor thing to come to Him as a last resort, to offer up ‘our own’ when it is no longer worth keeping. If God were proud He would hardly have us on such terms: but He is not proud, He stoops to conquor, He will have us even though we have shown that we prefer everything else to Him, and come to Him because there is ‘nothing better’ now to be had. The same humility is shown by all those Divine appeals to our fears which trouble high-minded readers of Scripture. It is hardly complimentary to God that we should choose Him as an alternative to Hell: yet even this He accepts. The creature’s illusion of self-sufficiency must, for the creature’s sake, be shattered;and by trouble or fear of trouble on earth, by crude fear of the eternal flames, God shatters it ‘unmindful of His glory’s diminution.’ Those who would like the God of Scripture to be more purely ethical,(why seemingly good people suffer) do not know what they ask. If God were a Kantian, who would not have us till we came to Him from the purest and best motives, who could be saved? And this illusion of self-sufficiency may be at its strongest in some very honest, kindly, and temperate people, and on such people, therefore, misfortune must fall.”

    The warning told to you by one of your friends you spoke of at LC rings in my ears. There is danger in becoming content when our contentment is found in worldly comfort. True trust is the product of countless testimonies of being broken and remade and true faith grows with the knowledge there is nothing this world can offer or throw at us that compares to the richness and power of God’s blessing and leadership. May God never allow me to be comfortable that I may continue to grow in faith and trust. I’m not strong enough to endure easy living.

  3. August 14, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Pastor Ryan, Thanks for the encouraging words on building your faith and thus strengthening your trust in God. It may seem elementary to some, but it really is quite profound and life changing. God never wastes an experience. He has used many hardships to strengthen my dependency on Him. We serve an awesome God. Thanks for reminding me of the other ways we can strengthen our faith and trust! By the way, you’ve got a great blog. Thanks for sharing your heart with the world!

  4. August 16, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Mr. DQ, you will hear some of the Jeremiah passages in my message this weekend. I am blown away by the timing of God’s word.

    Lee, I love the reading track you are on. Keep reading, keep sharing.

    BJ, you encourage me. You words inspire me to write more. Keep reading, and share this blog with others.


Leave a Reply

