12
Aug
08

Good theology

Trust is a matter of theology.  Deep, abiding trust is a matter of good theology.  Weak, wavering trust, on the other hand, is a matter of bad theology.  Thus, what we believe really does matter.  Our belief is the foundation for our trust.  If the aforementioned is true, and I believe it is, then you should make note of this: good theology can save you from despair.

We all know that good theology can save your soul.  You must believe as the Bible prescribes in order to be saved.  In the same way, good theology can save you from despair.  In the time of trouble, if you know the truth and if you remember the truth, what you know and remember can save you from despair.

Writing on the subject of trust, my friend, Ray Pritchard, has a short list of good theology.  Pritchard writes,

God is good.
God is faithful.
God knows what is best.
He is quick to forgive.
He will never leave me.
His mercy endures forever.
He makes no mistakes.
God has a purpose.
He is working out his plan for me.
God still loves me.
The Holy Spirit indwells me.
Jesus is alive today.
He will return someday.

We all will agree that the battleground of trust is in our mind.  It is between our ears we wrestle with fret and worry and anxiety.  If we are going to win the battle of trust versus despair then we must refer to what we believe and why we believe it.

Take a moment to read through Pritchard’s list again.  Perhaps you will need it this week as you wrestle with your trust in the Lord.

By the way, speaking of good theology with regard to trust, do not forget these words:

7 “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord,
whose trust is the Lord.
8  He is like a tree planted by water,
that sends out its roots by the stream,
and does not fear when heat comes,
for its leaves remain green,
and is not anxious in the year of drought,
for it does not cease to bear fruit.”

Jeremiah 17:7-8

1 Response to “Good theology”


  1. August 18, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Ryan, that list you quoted has become very important to me. This summer during one of my conferences, I found myself mentioning it over and over again. I love how you put it–the battleground of trust is in the mind. Well said–and 100% true. In the time of trouble, we have to go back to what we know to be true–and then keep going back to it over and over again. I mention it often in my preaching these days because I need to remember it myself. Always great to read what you have written. Ray


Leave a Reply

