07
Aug
08

Do you trust me?

So, I am driving to a breakfast appointment.  I’ve got one million thoughts cascading through my mind.

Many of them include Taylor and his whereabouts in Europe, Kelsey with school resuming, and other family matters.  Yes, there are even a few CrossPoint details weighing heavily on my heart.

I spent time praying about these things and many others in my morning devotions.  Vonda agreed to pray with me throughout the day.

I hit the interstate.  The traffic is piling up.  I lift my heart to heaven one more time.  It is a good a moment.

Even though I am surrounded by countless commuters, I am alone.  Even in traffic, all is quiet.

“God, you know my heart,” I speak out loud.  “You know what my concerns, my fears, my thoughts, and my decisions.  Please guide each one of us to do what is right and what glorifies you.”

There is silence.

Then, this thought crowds my attention: “RYAN, DO YOU TRUST ME!”  More than a thought; it is louder than that.

“Yes, Lord,” I respond, “I trust you.”

A few more mile and minutes pass.

The question arises in my heart and my head again, “Ryan, do you trust me?”

“Yes, Lord, I trust you.”

I trust God.  At least I claim to trust God.  I trusted God to save me many decades ago.  I trusted the Lord when He called to ministry.  I have trusted Him in many times past with many other needs and issues.  Why is it, however, that there seems to be time our trust waxes and wanes?  If we truly do trust the Lord, why do we seem sometimes to waver in our faith?

I want to trust the Lord.  I believe I trust the Lord.  Yet, there are times when my trust falters.

“Okay, God,” I say.  “Apparently I have not trusted you fully in each of these matters.  Today, right now, I put my full trust in You.  It is all Yours.  I relinquish control of these situations to You.”

Tomorrow, we continue with the subject of TRUST, and what I think is central to not trusting in the Lord.

5 Responses to “Do you trust me?”


  1. 1 John
    August 7, 2008 at 7:35 am

    That reminds me of the times I found myself stuck on the roof and my dad stood there with his arms held up saying, “John, do you trust me?” Trust meant I had to jump and leave the results to him!

  2. 2 pastorron7
    August 7, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    When I struggle with trust… and at times I think we all do… I pray what the dad said to Jesus about his child… “I believe, HELP MY UNBELIEF!” Great post.

  3. 3 Bill Walker
    August 7, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I agree with pastorron7. It seems that my personal verse is Mark 9:24 . . . I believe; help my unbelief”. I think the biggest obstacle to trusting the Lord is our self-centeredness. No matter how many times we are guided through a situation based on our trust in the Lord, we always try to control the next situtation ourselves. Unfortunately (although at the moment, it always seems to be fortunately) our own abilities are usually enough to handle most situations. This means that we don’t have to trust the Lord most days in order to make it through the day.

    It is amazing to me, that when I am at the end of my rope, and I turn to the Lord out of desparation — he is always there and he always comes through. Unfortunately, I am usually at the end of my rope before I turn to the Lord. It almost seems like if I can handle it myself, it isn’t worth bothering Him with. But when I trust in him repeatedly, it builds my trust in Him. When I don’t have to trust Him, my trust (and faith) seem to diminish.

    I am always on the lookout for “God Connectors”. These are the people who show up at just the right time, when you are looking to God for something, and provide exactly what you need. If you aren’t looking for them, you don’t realize they are there. Many times I have shown up at home with some surprise for Stacy, and found out later she had asked God to help her with that very thing. In that instance, I was a God Connector. I have even told people at work when they were God connectors for me. They usually look at me like I am crazy, but the Lord can even use our enemeies to reach us and grow us — just ask the Israelites.

    I think the more we look toward God, and look for God in our lives, the more we trust him. The more we look to ourselves, our families, and our friends in our lives, the less we trust him. We can’t grow ourselves and grow our faith at the same time. There has to be more of Him and less of Me.

  4. August 7, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Ron, please quit stealing my thunder. You will see in tomorrow’s post.

    Bill, are you sure God did not call you to preach, because you sure do preach every time you comment. Good stuff.

  5. August 7, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Wow. I belive that Jesus is sitting on the edge of his seat on the Throne and is eagerly waiting for us to jump into his arms. I agree with you John. For many of us, he has been waiting for so long for us to simply jump. As principal of a school, I decided as we start the new school year to pray this prayer, “Lord Jesus. I’m not the principal of my school, you are. I have no rights to my will; rather, your will be done. I can’t. You can.” This prayer is basicslly me jumping into his arms. When we really put our trust in Him, we jump. Are you ready to jump?


Leave a Reply

