06
Aug
08

The Way NOT to Pray

Three months ago I began using the Lord’s Prayer in my morning devotions.  I invited you to join me in the journey.

During an early morning jog while on vacation, this version came to mind.

Please note this NOT the way to pray:

My Father who is in heaven
Make my name great!
My kingdom come, my will be done,
in heaven as it is here on earth.
Give me today what I want, because that is why You exist.
And forgive me my sins,
even though I am not willing to forgive those who have sinned against me.
Let me play with temptation
For mine is the kingdom and the power and the glory, forever.  Amen.

You may scoff at the thought of praying like this, but in many respects this is the way we pray.  We may not pray like this specifically, but this usually is our intent.

Watch what you pray.  Listen to what you say.  Then determine whether your prayer has this kind of intent.

Grace always.

0 Responses to “The Way NOT to Pray”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

