14
Jul
08

Why “just one more” really works

While Pastor Ryan is on vacation this summer, he has turned his blog over to four CrossPointers. This week, Jonathan Howe takes over.  Jonathan is married to CrossPoint’s Minister to Children, Beth Howe.  They have two beautiful boys.  Jonathan is the Marketing and Sales Manager with New Hope Publishers, the trade publishing division of the Woman’s Missionary Union, and also is the editor of justonemore.info.

As is the case for many staff spouses, I am generally known around CrossPoint as my wife’s husband. While I am proud of the fact that Beth is a minister of the Gospel, I think that I’m most proud when I am referred to as Ethan’s dad or Parker’s dad. The strange thing is that it’s probably the most frightening title that I’m given as well.

Responsibility increases when you have kids. I knew that when I became a father over four years ago, but that fact has become more and more apparent as my children have grown older. The same can be said as we grow in our faith.

Unfortunately, personal responsibility has really disappeared from the American Church over the past 10-15 years. Political correctness and tolerance have started to be disguised as grace in some Christian circles. Accountability has become something done in a group of two or three and not something practiced on a large scale.

The thing I love about CrossPoint is that the accountability and personal responsibility are still there. As simple as it may seem, “just one more” thrusts the responsibility of building the Kingdom of God onto the shoulders of every member, not just staff members and deacons like in most churches that I’ve been a part of in the past.

As we grow in our personal faith and in the community of faith we know as CrossPoint, our responsibility to our calling increases. “Just one more” represents more than just a motto; it’s our call to action. Every member of CrossPoint knows the level of commitment to which they are called.

Like being referred to as the dad of my children, being referred to as a CrossPointer, let alone being known as a Christian, has a designated sense of responsibility that comes with the title. Fortunately I am easily reminded of my calling everyday when my wife leaves for work.

I encourage you to remember that every morning as well. Not only are we blessed to have a Savior by the grace of God, but we are also blessed with a community of faith that calls us to live out our calling and to be radically involved in the mission of God by bringing “just one more” into the fold.

0 Responses to “Why “just one more” really works”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

