09
Jul
08

Walking daily with God

While Pastor Ryan is on vacation this summer, he has turned his blog over to four CrossPointers. This week, Charlie Wiles takes over.  Charlie and his wife, Connie, have been married for almost 29 years and they have three adult children and three grandchildren.  Charlie is a Dairy Queen franchisee and has been in the restaurant business for almost 30 years.  He’s been a member at CrossPoint since 2005.

A consistent walk with God requires that:

We must respond by faith

It began with a calling, a desire on God’s part.  As a believer you were chosen before the foundation of the world.  An unimaginable sacrifice was made to make you righteous before a Holy God. Our Creator has chosen to love us.  This was no small decision.  Without His love we were doomed to eternal disaster.

Doomed, lost, set for eternal separation from God, Christ in his obedience and great love was the sacrifice necessary to satisfy God’s wrath.  We waiver as Christians because we forget the price paid. Things are not as they seem, we are at war.  Spiritual war began in heaven but is played out daily in our lives.  Christ is Lord, He alone is our Champion.  We must have faith, we are not alone in this battle.

Mark 9: 22-24 But if you can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.” 23And Jesus said to him, ‘If you can’! All things are possible for one who believes.” 24Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe; help my unbelief!”

John 14: 1 Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.

Revelation 3:8 I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

Romans 8:28  And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.

We already know God’s will for us, we must obey!

Oh if I only knew God’s will.  Well we have it. God has made it clear what He wants for us.

Micah 6: 6-8 tells us: “With what shall I come before the LORD, and bow myself before God on high?  Shall I come before him with burnt offerings, with calves a year old? 7Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, with ten thousands of rivers of oil? Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?” 8He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

Ephesians 4: 1 I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called….

John 14:25-27 “These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. 26But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you. 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

1 Peter 1: 13-15 Therefore, preparing your minds for action, and being sober-minded, set your hope fully on the grace that will be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ. 14As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, 15but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, 16since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

These don’t sound like multiple choices!  There’s more, hundreds…

We must wait on the Lord.

With faith as starting point and obedience in place, fellowship will take center stage as we learn all that God teaches when we wait on Him.  It just seems to me that these things go hand in hand.  It sounds so simple, yet waiting I am sure is the most challenging.  We screw up so much when we get ahead of God.  Come to think of it, when you are out in front of Him, you loose protection.  Waiting is another area of scripture that much is written about.  There are many examples of what will happen when we don’t wait and plenty of encouragement for us to wait.

Isaiah 40:31 but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Psalm 27:14 Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!

Micah 7: 7 But as for me, I will look to the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me.

Isaiah 30:18 Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you.  For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him.

What is interesting about these scriptures it that LORD is in all caps in each scripture.  This indicates “The Lord God Almighty” or to put it another way the Lord of Heavens Armies.  Things aren’t what they seem – we are at war, a spiritual war with the lord of this world.  We must wait on God, he is faithful, and when all seems lost He will come walking on water or delivering an unexpected word.  He will be there, because HE IS GOD.

God speaks to us in many ways but it is always discerned in the heart.  As a believer and follower of Jesus the heart is where we have invited His Lordship.

Our walk is to be by faith:

a.    Where ever faith leads us God is already there
b.    Faith will never ask you to do what God hasn’t already equipped you to do
c.    Faith will never ask you to give what God Himself will not provide

We already know God’s will for our lives:  When we are in alignment with God’s plan for our lives the Holy Spirit will move on your heart.  The Holy Spirit will guide you.  You will discern God’s leadership in your life.  We must learn to wait on God.

0 Responses to “Walking daily with God”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

