02
Jul
08

Summer Reading

Listed below are a few books I plan to read in the coming weeks:

With the Old Breed by E.B Sledge – Victor Davis Hanson of the Wall Street Journal lists With the Old Breed as one of the top five books on epic twentieth-century battles. Old Breed is an acclaimed first-person account of fighting at Peleliu and Okinawa.

The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan – Hard Time is the story of those who stayed and survived the dust storms on the High Plains during America’s Great Depression.

The Minute to Midnight by Michael Dobbs – Dobbs’ tome is about the thirteen days in October 1962 when the human race came as close as it had ever come to nuclear destruction.

Finishing Well: What People Who REALLY Live Differently Do! by Bob Buford – I am particularly excited about this book since I met the author years ago during a pastor’s retreat. Two other Buford books I recommend are Halftime and Game Plan.

Living the Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing by C.J. Mahaney – Cross-Centered is a gift from the author. I wrote him a week or so after attending Together for the Gospel, where he was one of the speakers. In response he sent me this book and another book titled Humility. I have already read Humility. If Cross-Centered is anything like Humility, it will be a real keeper.

In My Place Condemned He Stood: Celebrating the Glory of Atonement by J.I. Pakcer and Mark Dever – In My Place was one of the many books participants were given at the Together for the Gospel Conference last April. My friends Buddy and John keep telling me I need to read this book. Hopefully, I can read it during my vacation.

I will let you know whether any or all of these books are worth reading when I return.

0 Responses to “Summer Reading”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

