25
Jun
08

Lawn Care Therapy

So, I’m cutting my mother’s yard.  My mind is wondering.  I’m thinking and praying simultaneously.  Perhaps that is one of the reasons why I enjoy yard work.  I solve more problems, pray more prayers, answer more questions and discover more solutions working in the yard than any other time in my week.  I guess you could call it Lawn Care Therapy.

Let’s return to my mother’s lawn.

So, I am mowing her lawn and pondering.  I’ve got Vonda, Taylor, and Kelsey on my mind.  I am wrestling with our needs.  I am also considering some of our wants.  My mother’s needs are in my thinking.  There are always the pressing concerns of CrossPoint and our staff pervading my mind.

“Okay, Father, how are you going to meet these needs?” I ask.

There is a moment of contemplation.  Then the Holy Spirit gives me His Prayer,

“Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name.
Your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.
For yours is the kingdom
and the power
and the glory,
forever.
Amen.

There it is, as plain as can be.  Make note: Give us THIS DAY our DAILY bread.  His message is loud and clear.  “Father, you want me to trust you today, this day, just today for these many needs?”

Once again, the Lord’s Prayer speaks to me.  The Prayer reminds me my Father will meet all my needs today.  There is no need to fret tomorrow.  My job is to trust him for today.  Trust the Lord to give you this day your daily bread.

I wonder what I will learn on my lawnmower next week.

2 Responses to “Lawn Care Therapy”


  1. 1 John
    June 25, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Hey Ryan,
    If you need some more prayer time my yard could use a little work!

  2. June 25, 2008 at 9:18 am

    HA! John, thanks for the invitation. I have enough prayer time between mine and my mother’s yard.


Leave a Reply

