22
May
08

Chronological Bible Reading Plan

I am really enjoying CrossPoint’s Bible reading this year.  For those of you who do not know, CrossPoint reads through the Bible each year.  We practice this discipline because we know the more we go through God’s Word, the more God’s Word will go through us.

Now I know that not every CrossPointer is reading their Bible.  If so, I thoroughly believe more CrossPointers would be living a more devoted life for Christ. That being the case, however, I do know each year more CrossPointers are reading their Bible.  So, that is why I will continue to challenge our family of faith to read and study God’s Word.

I am enjoying this year’s Bible reading plan due its cohesiveness.  This year’s plan is interconnected because it is structured chronologically.  We are reading the Scripture in the order in which it was originally written, or should I say, in the order in which we believe it was written.

For example, for the month of May we have been reading of King David’s life in Samuel, Chronicles and Psalms.  I am particularly drawn to the way you can read of an event in David’s life from Samuel and Chronicles, and then follow up on David’s response in the Psalms.  The Psalms come alive as you realize the correlation.

A great example of the Samuel/Chronicles correlation with the Psalms is when Nathan confronts David about his adulterous relationship with Bathsheba.  In 2 Samuel 11 & 12 we read of the confrontation.  Then, in our reading for the next day, we read of David’s confession in Psalms 32 & 51.  We have similar scenario in our Bible reading when David brings judgment on 70,000 men by ordering a God-forsaken consensus from 1 Chronicles 21-22 & 2 Samuel 24, and then the reading from Psalms 30 records David’s confession.

While reading through David’s life chronologically I have noticed something else that occurred with regularity.  On more than one occasion, David was advised or confronted by a leader or close confidant:

  • In 2 Samuel 12:1-7, Nathan approaches David about Bathsheba.
  • In 2 Samuel 19:5-8, Joab advises David about mourning over the death of his rebellious son, Abaslom.
  • In 1 Chronicles 21:3-4, Joab pleads with David not to conduct the census.

God used these men, and many others in David’s life to guide, instruct and confront him.  While recognizing these accounts and re-reading each episode, I prayed for two things in my own life.  First, I prayed my counselors, the men I trust, would come to me without reservation to ask questions, to raise concern, to provide guidance and to confront my sin.  Second, I prayed I would respond in humility, gentleness, and when necessary, with immediate contrition.

We can learn much from David today.  And that is, that we should have people around us who counsel us; and that when they counsel us we should respond in humility.

0 Responses to “Chronological Bible Reading Plan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

