12
May
08

Don’t Waste Your Pulpit

This video describes exactly why I quit preaching little sermonettes for little Christianettes.  A little over three years ago I grew tired of creating something new, entertaining or insightful each week.  The grind of being novel started to wear on me.  I was not creative enough to keep up with the world, the great story tellers, researchers or entertainers.

In the midst of my preaching malaise I made a decision.  I decided to let the Bible speak for it self.  God did not need me, my cute stories, my ingenious outlines or my inspirational thoughts to enliven His Word.  All God needed—and wanted, I might add—was for me to preach the Bible.  When I finally realized all I am called to do is to “preach the word” then the light came on.  And let me add, remaining faithful to the Bible is 10,000 times more demanding than preaching pragmatic, psychobabble; yet it is also 10,000 more rewarding.  Besides God’s Word defends itself, when it is proclaimed properly.

1 Response to “Don’t Waste Your Pulpit”


  1. 1 crazyro
    May 12, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Pastor Ryan,

    Thank you for this great reminder. It is very interesting, as going in to work this morning I was listening to an older Dr. Platt message, and it “just so happened” to be on, get this, preaching. Same reminder. As he put it: “I don’t have to make the Word great. It is great. I just have to bring it and bring it hot.” It’s amazing, as I have caught myself, at times, when teaching the college students, wondering if I should make the Word more fun, more creative, more innovative. I was almost apologizing, in my head, for wanting to only teach the Bible. I’m thankful that God didn’t let me stray from teaching and preaching only His Word. It is the only thing we need. And I thank you for bringing it “hot” to us every Sunday.
    One of the things I’ve noticed in many churches is that they are trying to replace the Word with media. It will never work. I am probably one of the people most interested in media and communications (it’s my passion), but I will be the first to throw away anything that competes with the Word, as opposed to only supporting it. The Word HAS to be central. Everything else is gravy.
    If we want to reach “Just One More” for Him, the only way to do it is through the Word. Paul said it best: “For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel — not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power. For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”


Leave a Reply

