05
Mar
08

LISTENING Through the Bible

Twenty-two years ago my mentor challenged me to read through the Bible each year, the remaining years of my life and ministry. I am so thankful for that challenge. It seems impossible, yet each year I learn something new about God’s word. This year is no different. However, this year I have added a new twist to my Bible reading plan. Instead of reading through the Bible, I am also LISTENING through the Bible. The Listener’s Bible narrated by Max Mclean is my audio Bible. Each morning I let Max do the reading for me. He reads, I listen, and the result is strong.

It took me a few weeks to orient myself to the routine. Listening to someone else read the text slowed down my pace. I read too fast, anyway. By slowing down the pace I notice more details. Just this morning I hit rewind twice to ensure what I heard/read was accurate. Additionally, listening to the text makes the laborious parts of Leviticus and Numbers more tolerable. Listening also highlights portions I would have skipped over due to familiarity.

For those of you interested, you can check out the listening format at www.biblegateway.com. Bill Parr tells me visits that website each morning to listen to the Bible. Others of you may want to go my way and purchase the entire set. Click here to learn more about The Listeners Bible: www.listenersbible.com. Whichever route you take, I highly recommend listening to the Word of God.

Although the Bible read by Max McLean on compact disc may not have been on Paul’s mind, it is obvious Paul understood the power of hearing God’s word when he wrote in Romans 10:17:

So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

Try it out. Listening/reading through the Bible is a great adventure.

0 Responses to “LISTENING Through the Bible”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

