26
Feb
08

The beauty of my daughter

There is a fine line I walk when it comes to acknowledging the accomplishments of my children.  I have an unwritten rule to keep every unnecessary spotlight from shining on Taylor and Kelsey.  My kids have never been ones to crave public attention any way.  Today I must make an exception to my unwritten rule, however. 

My baby girl was crowned the 10th Grade Beauty Queen in last weekend’s Miss Pinson Valley Pageant.  Her mother and I are so proud of her.  Even if she did not win or place, we would still brag about her.

Speaking of beauty, CrossPoint was well represented in the pageant, especially in the 10th grade.  Three of the top four queens (Kelsey, Haley & Anna) are CrossPointers.  The picture below proves my point. 

(from l to r-Maggie Calgill, Kelsey, Haley Bryan, Anna Smith)

There is so much I would like to say about my daughter.  She is a very special young lady.  Kelsey reminds me of her mother, so you see now why I think she is such a beauty. 

Kelsey’s screen saver summarizes her beauty better than I ever could:

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

Proverbs 31:10

Being a dad is good stuff.  Next to being married to Vonda, I consider being Taylor and Kelsey’s father one of my highest distinctions.

2 Responses to “The beauty of my daughter”


  1. 1 Tonya-Faye
    February 27, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Okay-that made me cry!!! How beautiful!

  2. 2 J pATTON
    March 2, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Wow! we are so proud also.


Leave a Reply

