16
Feb
08

Only Comfort in Life and Death

Two weeks ago, my friend Ray Pritchard posted the first question to the Heidelberg Catechism on his blog.  Since then I have been reading and rereading the response to that question which was written in 1563.

I provide the question for you today trusting it challenges you as much as it has challenged me:

Question 1: What is your only comfort in life and in death?

Answer: That I am not my own, but belong with body and soul, both in life and in death, to my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ. He has fully paid for all my sins with His precious blood, and has set me free from all the power of the devil. He also preserves me in such a way that without the will of my heavenly Father not a hair can fall from my head; indeed, all things must work together for my salvation. Therefore, by His Holy Spirit He also assures me of eternal life. and makes me heartily willing and ready from now on to live for Him.

Amen!

6 Responses to “Only Comfort in Life and Death”


  1. February 17, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    “That I am not my own”

    Ryan, isn’t it divinely ironic that the profession of lack of freedom (indeed a lack of personal ownership of my own body and soul) is my only comfort? How un-American! But how truly biblical!

  2. 2 Ron
    February 20, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I think that the pastor has a wonderful opportunity to prepare every believer for their birth into heaven… that time when we draw our last breath and our next sight are angels that usher us into the presence of God. You are doing that by reminding the people of CrossPoint that Jesus IS our life and that prepares them not only to live, but for the transition into the presnces of God in eternity. I’m confident that our Savior will bless those who read the insights and encouragements you post on this blog.

  3. February 20, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Jason, “That I am not my own” certainly runs in contradiction to the rugged individualism of “have it your way”. Amen. I agree. Thanks for your thoughts.

  4. February 21, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Ron, I conducted the funeral for a 25 year old man today. He leaves behind a beautiful wife and daughter. Thus my mind is on heaven in many ways today. Our only comfort should be in the great grace and love of God Almighty. Thank you for your comments.

  5. 5 Mark Isley
    February 24, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Having suffered from losing my father recently brings about a new freshness of desiring even more to get to Heaven quickly. But, as my mom has stated many times before, as long as we have breath, our mission on Earth is not yet complete. God is our ultimate comforter in both the good and bad times in life.

  6. March 4, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Mark, you do realize your mother is a true woman of faith, don’t you? You have a great spiritual heritage.


Leave a Reply

