30
Jan
08

Satisfied in My Condition

I quoted Thomas Watson in my message last weekend.  I continue to return to his thoughts about accepting God’s will for your life.  I thought it might be helpful for some of you to have this quote readily available this week:

A good Christian argues thus: It is God that has put me in this condition; he could have raised me higher, if he pleased, but that might have been a snare for me: he has done it in wisdom and love; therefore I will sit down satisfied in my condition.  Surely this glorifies God much; God counts himself much honoured by such a Christian.  Here, says God, is one after mine heart; let me do what I will with him, I hear no murmuring, he is content.  This shows abundance of grace.  When grace is crowning, it is not so much to be content; but when grace is conflicting with inconveniences, then to be content is a glorious thing indeed.  For one to be content when he is in heaven is no wonder; but to be content under the cross is like a Christian.

0 Responses to “Satisfied in My Condition”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

