29
Jan
08

I Just Don’t Get It

God bless Heath Ledger’s family for the sorrow they are experiencing over his death.  It is obvious they are grief-stricken.  And I certainly do not intend to disrespect them in any way, but why was his untimely death treated as national news?

Like so many of you, I am mystified by the continual media coverage devoted to things that really do not matter. 

Last week Ledger’s death received national attention.  The first few days after his body was discovered we were given up-to-date reports.  Photographers filled the streets of New York to take a photo of his body being whisked away by the coroner.  Two days later a greater number of paparazzi clamored to get a photo of his body being delivered to the funeral home.  Of course, the national news delivered video of this event.  By the week’s end most major news outlets offered daily updates with regard to the circumstances associated with Ledger’s death.  One week later, we are provided the details as to how his body was being flown back home to Australia.

I just don’t get it.

Now don’t get me wrong; what happened was tragic.  For his family and his friends, this loss is horrible.  Yet the media continues to treat this story as if it were a national tragedy.  

Somebody help me; I just don’t understand how any of this is “news”.

While I am ranting, let me add that I do not care that Brittney missed her court date.  Neither am I the least bit intrigued that Lindsey Lohan was ordered to rehab.  Nor do I consider it news that former President Clinton fell asleep during a Martin Luther Day sermon.  I am not concerned either that Drew Peterson took out his garbage the other day while the authorities searched for his missing wife.

Okay, since I have started this tirade, let me add a few other objections about our media.

I am distracted by the news tidbits they run across the bottom of the television screen.   Which do they want me to do, listen to what they are saying or read what they are typing?

Additionally, I am not interested in the latest poll numbers regarding next week’s primary.  Did they not learn their lesson in New Hampshire?  Besides do those who publish the numbers not realize those numbers change with the weather?

And, on a local level, I do not need watch live coverage of people in Clanton waiting outside on the big “snow event” heading their way.  Also, quit telling me what kind of weather I can expect next weekend when it is only Monday.  I may not live that long.  Just tell me what to expect today.  Neither am I interested in my television viewing being interrupted with a politician passing through town giving a primary election speech.

Please talk to me about things that really matter.  Please report news that affects my life.  Please tell me something I need to know.  Report about something happening in another part of the world, which will sooner or later will affect the United States.

Instead of giving me a death count from Iraq, please tell me what kind of progress the Iraq government is making.  And try to disclose that information without a bias.

I would like to know more about what Congress is doing to control our borders.

Are we making any progress or our elected leaders just blowing political smoke?

Keep me informed of the crimes against humanity in China. 

What is happening in Korea? 

Please give an update from Sudan.

What are people doing to fight off the current recession?

Is there someone else other than a Clinton or a Bush running for president? 

Okay, I am through with my rant.  Thanks for entertaining me by reading this blog.

 

4 Responses to “I Just Don’t Get It”


  1. 1 GAY
    January 29, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Preachy

    You expect a lot from our government. How do you think they control our minds? Do you think for one minute they will give us the real facts? That would make them believe that we are actully intelligent human beings. They want us to be programed robots. You have to read to learn the truth in the states. You know like the Drudge report, Christian World News, Eagle Forum publications and Fox News if you want the truth.

    Ok I admit I am a snow freak and I would watch anyone getting snow. I almost had to be sedated last Saturday when the snow didn’t start until around 10. Larry and Mandi were here and about to get the straitjacket for me.

    I would love to be able to see real news. My eye sight doesn’t let me read the scroll across the bottom but it is annoying.

    I am tired of the Hollywood bunch on the news all the time. Of course the ones with no problems never make the headlines. It is always the same ones. Of course, until they all become just one more I guess we will read about them in the news. I am tired of the elections and we are months away. I will vote of course but it is hard to pick when none of the them are the likes of Ronald Reagan.

    Ok my ranting is done.

  2. January 29, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Welcome to America!

    I think it’s obvious that Satan is the Chief Operating Officer of mainstream broadcasting. Most of “what’s on” is meant to be a distraction. There’s no such thing as serious, objective journalism anymore. Most everything that we’re subjected to in the multiple forms of broadcast and print media is nothing more than fluff. The world is full of traps, be careful where you set your foot or set your eyes. It’s easy to get sucked in…

  3. 3 Aaron Presley
    January 30, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Amen, brother!

    Also, how do “they” decide which missing child becomes national news while the other thousands don’t get one mention?

  4. 4 brian
    January 31, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    we turned off our tv service a month ago. it’s wonderful.


Leave a Reply

