28
Jan
08

Oops, Glory of God Correction

While reading my January 24 blog about the glory of God I noticed an innocent inaccuracy in my communication.  Toward the end of the writing I offered a solution as to how sinners are able to give glory to God.  My solution sounds correct.  It even has a biblical tone to it.  Yet after reading through my concluding thoughts a few times I realized my mistake.

I wrote,

So what is the solution?

I believe part of the solution begins with contrition.  In Psalm 51 David declares, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”  Broken people have an access to God like no other.  Only broken and contrite people of God can truly experience the glory of God.

In one sense I was partially correct.  I tried to cover my theological bases by writing “I believe PART of the solution begins with contrition.” 

Yes, contrition is PART of the solution.  But contrition is not where our solution BEGINS.  The solution to a sinner giving glory to God BEGINS with God.  It is only through Jesus Christ we are able as sinner to glorify God.

 Sure, contrition, brokenness and confession of sin are necessary elements of approaching a holy God.  Yet that process must begin somewhere and it does not begin with us.  The ability as a sinner to give glory to God begins with what God did for us, not with what we do for God.  Access to God’s glory is always initiated by God. 

Under the tutelage of the Holy Spirit, the Apostle Paul writes this about what God did for us through Jesus Christ:

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.  The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. 18 All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; 19 that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. 20 Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. 21 For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

2 Corinthians 5:17-21

Note the meat of the text in verses 18 and 19:

18 All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; 19 that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. 

Again, note verse 21:

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. 

Our salvation has everything to do with God, and nothing to do with us.  God starts our salvation, continues our salvation and completes our salvation.  The New Testament teaches,

 And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. 

Philippians 1:6 

I know some of you may think I am jumping through some unnecessary theological semantics.  Yet the more I hear the “works oriented gospel” propagated today I realize how necessary it is for me to remain consistent in my gospel understanding of salvation through Jesus Christ.  My clarification of this point may seem infinitesimal to some; yet over time if we consistently start with man our salvation message becomes man-centered.  The more I read the Bible the more I am aware that our salvation is always begins with God which means it is God-centered.

 So as to lead no one astray, let me repeat my correction: The ability as a sinner to give glory to God begins with what God did for us, not with what we do for God.  Access to God’s glory is always initiated by God.

0 Responses to “Oops, Glory of God Correction”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

