24
Jan
08

Why We Miss the Glory of God

CrossPoint’s plan for 2008 is to measure our success in terms of God’s glory. Our passion for the year is to seek, experience, learn, live for and share God’s glory. The only way this will be accomplished is for each of us to be consumed by the glory of God. God’s glory must be our singular desire; it must be our first and only priority of the year.

Have you ever wondered why God’s glory or knowledge of God’s glory is such a mystery?  As one author asks, “Why have the best minds of men not been able to discover the nature of God and His wisdom?”

The answer, I believe, is simple. 

Sin is the answer.  Our pride gets in the way of God’s glory.  Humans reject God.  We think we know what is best, and we say to God, “I don’t need you” or “God, I will let you know when I need you.”  I am convinced that is why Paul, under the leadership of the Holy Spirit, recorded these words:

            …for all have sinned and fall short of the GLORY of God (emphasis mine).

The Greek word for “sin” is hamartia.  The word is taken from the world of athletic competition, having to do with archery.  It envisions an archer in place, who deflects his aim and misses the mark.  He sins by missing the mark.  His purpose was to hit the bull’s eye, but he missed it completely.  That is what happens when we sin-we miss the mark.  Thus, the world is made up of bad archers.  None of us is able to hit the target (Exposition of Bible Doctrines, William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company).

So what is the solution?

I believe part of the solution begins with contrition.  In Psalm 51 David declares, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”  Broken people have an access to God like no other.  Only broken and contrite people of God can truly experience the glory of God.

So, where does that leave us?

It leaves us in a state of brokenness and repentance.  Until then, we are only talking of God’s glory and not experiencing it.

1 Response to “Why We Miss the Glory of God”


  1. 1 Mandi
    January 24, 2008 at 11:02 am

    First of all I love the new WordPress look! Second, I am very excited and eager to dive deeper into God’s word this year to try and get my brain wrapped around the mystery of God’s Glory. I wholeheartedly agree with your last statement concerning brokeness and repentance and then I think that even my moments of repentance with God I often times try to monopolize that time with rationales, excuses…. I think back 2 weeks ago when you said God does not need our advice or counsel. He does what He does because of who He is and does not need us to help Him with His business. I have tried my best to internalize that statement in my life and walk with Him and it has had a profound effect on my time alone with Him. Thank you for simplifying things and bringing clear and applicable examples to the table for us. I can’t wait to see what God has in store next!


Leave a Reply

